Archive for October 18th, 2010

As the BBC and Harry’s Place blog report, the Labour party rules are quite clear:

Chapter 2, Rule A(4)(b) of the Labour Party Rules state:

A member of the party who joins and/or supports a political organisation other than an official Labour group or other unit of the party, or supports any candidate who stands against an official Labour candidate, or publicly declares their intent to stand against a Labour candidate, shall automatically be ineligible to be or remain a party member….

Under those rules, eight councillors in Tower Hamlets were expelled from Labour after they were seen campaigning for Lutfur Rahman. When I revealed last week that Lord Nazir Ahmed had also appeared on a pro-Lutfur platform, Labour HQ declined to take such swift action and instead said it would investigate it after the election.

No doubt, it will be the same double-standards with the far bigger fish Ken Livingstone. However, Oona King’s campaign team are once again readying for action stations. Oona, who many believe would have a wider appeal than Ken in taking on Boris Johnson, is understood to be playing down that excitement.

It all depends on the party’s NEC which has yet to have its first full meeting since Ed Miliband became leader. It has 31 members:

Leader Ed Miliband
Deputy Leader Harriet Harman
Treasurer Diana Holland
Government Pat McFadden
Government Angela Eagle
Government Tom Watson
EPLP Leader Glenis Willmott MEP
Young Labour Stephanie Peacock
Div. I – Trade Unions Keith Birch
Div. I – Trade Unions Jim Kennedy
Div. I – Trade Unions Harriet Yeo
Div. I – Trade Unions Paddy Lillis
Div. I – Trade Unions Norma Stephenson (Chair)
Div. I – Trade Unions Andy Kerr
Div. I – Trade Unions Cath Speight
Div. I – Trade Unions Mary Turner
Div. I – Trade Unions Chris Weldon
Div. I – Trade Unions Andy Worth
Div. II – Socialist Societies Simon Wright
Div. II – Socialist Societies Keith Vaz MP
Div. III – CLPs Ken Livingstone
Div. III – CLPs Oona King
Div. III – CLPs Ann Black
Div. III – CLPs Ellie Reeves
Div. III – CLPs Christine Shawcroft
Div. III – CLPs Luke Akehurst
Div. IV – Labour Councillors Jeremy Beecham
Div. IV – Labour Councillors Ann Lucas
Div. V – PLP/EPLP Angela Smith MP
Div. V – PLP/EPLP Dennis Skinner
Div. V – PLP/EPLP Michael Cashman MEP (Vice Chair)

How many of those do you think would be pro-Ken? Help needed, please….

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: